Page 1 of 2

Greek Alphabet in Heredis 2014

Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 6:06 pm
by tony_rho
I have installed the trial version of HEREDIS 2014 on my PC. Taking into consideration that my family members are Greeks, their surnames and names have to be written also in greek language using greek characters. Trying to create a test family tree I noticed that, although the program accepts greek alphabet and shows it correctly in the main window, it fails to show relative information for individual members in the right bottom window of the screen.
A second point of less importance but still a wanted option concerns the date representation. In Greece a date is written as day-month-year and not month-day, year.
Any suggestion how can I correct the above “bugs” before buying the full software and starting the building my family tree?
Thanks in advance.

Re: Greek Alphabet in Heredis 2014

Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:48 pm
by mike-en
tony_rho wrote:how can I correct the above “bugs” ...
Bugs ! Where ? The program works fine as designed ...
Heredis for Windows uses only the latin character set, even though you can use any character set in Notes

Re: Greek Alphabet in Heredis 2014

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:01 pm
by tony_rho
Although I enclosed the word bug between quotes, not knowing how to call the non proper representation of character set, not in the whole screen but, in a specific sub-window of it, seems that Mike got me wrong, thinking that, I am accusing the software for bugs. In no way I’m arguing about it. Heredis is a nice software and I like it very much.
As I’m new in the forum, is there a way to post a print screen in order to make it clearer what I’m asking you for? I’m not a software specialist but my intuition tells me that this is something very simple! It is not possible to see the member’s name correctly on a part of the screen and on another one the same name appears with strange and without any sense characters.
Thanks again.

Re: Greek Alphabet in Heredis 2014

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:37 pm
by mike-en
tony_rho wrote: is there a way to post a print screen.
When writing a message, go further down the window to find

Re: Greek Alphabet in Heredis 2014

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:59 pm
by tony_rho
This is my print screen.
Awaiting your suggestions
Thanks again

Re: Greek Alphabet in Heredis 2014

Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 4:36 am
by mike-en
I understand why the "WRONG" : the "résumé" is not edited directly by Heredis but is passed as an http text

Though, I dont't understand how you succeeded to keep greek characters elsewhere ... I don't, whatever I try with the English version of Heredis (my system is 'français')

BSD ?

Re: Greek Alphabet in Heredis 2014

Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:42 pm
by tony_rho
Mike wrote: I dont't understand how you succeeded to keep greek characters elsewhere
The majority of Greeks’ PCs are at least bilingual and some of them also multilingual, depending on the needs of each user. Through WINDOWS’ regional setting, desired languages are installed and are used upon specific circumstances. I didn’t do anything more than select the Greek keyboard and fill the various fields accordingly. I have installed Windows 7 on my PC and no, I’m not using BSD!

Re: Greek Alphabet in Heredis 2014

Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 4:21 pm
by mike-en
tony_rho wrote:The majority of Greeks’ PCs are at least bilingual and some of them also multilingual, depending on the needs of each user. Through WINDOWS’ regional setting, desired languages are installed and are used upon specific circumstances. I didn’t do anything more than select the Greek keyboard and fill the various fields accordingly. I have installed Windows 7 on my PC
Thanks for this explanation ; I got the idea and understand why I couln not keep foreign character sets on my system ...

However, it will be much better if and when Heredis for PC would use UTF-8 as Heredis for Mac does ...

Re: Greek Alphabet in Heredis 2014

Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 6:21 pm
by tony_rho
Mike wrote: However, it will be much better if and when Heredis for PC would use UTF-8 as Heredis for Mac does ...
This means that "resume" can not be shown correctly with the codeset that the current version of Heredis uses?

Re: Greek Alphabet in Heredis 2014

Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:39 am
by mike-en
tony_rho wrote:
Mike wrote: However, it will be much better if and when Heredis for PC would use UTF-8 as Heredis for Mac does ...
This means that "resume" can not be shown correctly with the codeset that the current version of Heredis uses?
Have a look at your Private Mails ...